Kendrick Perkins Says Rajon Rondo Should & Will Stay In Boston

Photo Courtesy of NESN.com

Photo Courtesy of NESN.com

I’ll even admit this myself, Rajon Rondo has a mindset that can be very difficult to read. There aren’t many players, coaches and personnel that know Rajon Rondo on real personal level other than his closest friend Kendrick Perkins. Those two have been best friends since they’ve played together in Boston from 2006-2011 (including a 2008 championship season).  As we all know, Rajon Rondo will become a free agent after this season is over and it is still a mystery on what’s going to happen beyond this season. Kendrick Perkins talks to Rajon Rondo regularly to this day despite playing on different teams and had this to say about his closest friend’s situation in Boston:

 

“He should stay. I think this is a great place for him. I think he wants to stay here. We talk on the regular and I think he should stay. If I was him, I’d stay,” said Kendrick Perkins. “I just think it’s a perfect situation for him. He’s got a good group of guys around him, good coach. It’s his team, he’s able to play the way he’s capable of playing.”

 

Rajon Rondo concurred the statements made by Kendrick Perkins and made a clear-cut statement that he would like to remain with the Celtics for many years to come.

 

“That’s about accurate. From media day and the beginning, that’s what I said initially. Regardless of what’s going on in the season, my perspective hasn’t changed. I love being a Celtic,” said Rajon Rondo. “The fans, the people here, make me want to stay. The organization has been great. I can’t say enough about Danny Ainge and Wyc Grousbeck. When I walk down the street, the fans embrace me. From Day 1, when we won the championship, people don’t just appreciate us winning. It’s more of a thank you, it’s a love for the game. These people here know the game, they know when you’re BS-ing around, not playing as hard as you can. The love I get is kind of overwhelming in Boston. Why would I not want to stay here?”

 

Are you listening Jackie MacMullan?

Categories: Articles, Celtics

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

